NASA’s asteroid explorer Lucy spotted disappearing moon during the lunar eclipse

NASA’s Lucy spacecraft, which is currently on its way to asteroids orbiting the sun at the same distance as Jupiter, watched the moon disappear during the total lunar eclipse on May 15.

NASA released a short black-and-white timelapse video capturing the rotating earth on the left and the disappearing moon passing through the planet’s shadow on the right. The sequence consists of images taken over a three-hour period starting at 9:40 pm EDT on May 15 (0140 GMT on May 16) and ending on May 16 at 12:30 am EDT (0430 GMT). The observations ended before the moon left the planet’s shadow.

Leave a Comment